AHEAD project

The AHEAD project (African Higher Education Leadership in Advancing Inclusive Innovation for Development) is a three-year Capacity Building project, starting on October 15, 2017 and ending on October 14, 2020. The project consortium consists of 15 organizations, including:

  • 4 Universities from Europe:
    • University of Medicine, Pharmacy, Sciences and Technology of Tîrgu Mures, Romania
    • Birmingham City University, the United Kingdom
    • University of Molise, Italy
    • University of Social Sciences, Poland

joined by the consultancy company European Center for QualityBulgaria

  • 2 Universities from Tanzania:
    • Dar es Salaam Institute of Technology
    • The State University of Zanzibar
  • 3 Universities from Uganda:
    • Kyambogo University
    • Lira University
    • Makerere University
  • 5 Universities from Kenya:
    • Kenyatta University
    • Kibabii University
    • Kisii University
    • Mount Kenya University
    • The Catholic University of Eastern Africa

The project seeks to initiate a long-term partnership to mobilize EU expertise in support of building capacities of Kenyan, Tanzanian and Ugandan universities to lead and manage innovation that best fits their countries’ inclusive and sustainable development needs.