Lira University, Uganda

The university first opened as a constituent college of Gulu University in August 2012 with 100 students. At that time it was known as Gulu University Constituent College Lira. In June 2015, the Uganda Ministry of Education elevated the college to university status. The young LU currently operates three faculties: Faculty of Engineering and Technology, Faculty of Health Sciences and Faculty of Management Sciences. The mission of the university is to provide access to quality higher education, to conduct research and to conduct professional training for the delivery of appropriate services directed towards sustainable utilization of biodiversity for community transformation.

LU joined the consortium in the desire to initiate peer learning, exchange good practices and benefit from capacity building and technical assistance from established universities in both Uganda and abroad. Through this project it seeks to develop its research and training services to the Lira community and to transfer and implement strict standards on quality and impact of research and education. LU benefits from strong cooperation with Kyambogo University.