Dar Es Salaam Institute of Technology, Tanzania

Dar Es Salaam Institute of Technology was established in 1997. It replaced the Dar es Salaam Technical College, which had a long history of technical training in Tanzania (originally established in 1957). DIT offers a wide range of full-time, part-time and professional engineering qualifications and courses. Currently, it is undergoing both administrative and academic transformations to match its new structure and role.

DIT has 6 academic departments: Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Telecommunications Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Science and Laboratory Technology. The key research projects are in areas such as: renewable energy, hydroelectric power, biogas technology, compressed natural gas, and social innovations projects such as traffic light systems, call center system, 3D technology and numeric control systems. DIT operates a New Electrical Laboratory in Renewable Energy Technology (funded by World Bank) and a New Mechatronics Laboratory and a Telecommunication Lab (both funded by the Italian Government).